Wednesday, February 24, 2010

Later Days!

So, this past Friday I was lucky enough to be in the crowd of one of the best bands of all time: Later Days. If you haven't heard of them, find them on iTunes or check out their website. And if you don't know about them already, you must not be cool.



Paulie Wallie Doodle All The Day (the AMAZING bassist) has become a very good friend of Cielo's and, being the sweet friends we are, we support his ventures in life completely. Until Paul, we didn't know someone could be good at so many things--Professional/Model/Bassist by day, Menchies-goer with Cielo by night! Needless to say, Paul is a great new addition to the band and it was an honor to watch him play somewhere other than without an amp in our living room.. He's just growing up so fast (tear, tear).

I supposssssseeee I should give a shout out to the rest of the band.......
:)John Faratzis (guitarist), Derrick Peltz (drummer), and last but DEFINITELY not least Mike Wassef (lead singer). AND ladies and gentlemen, don't forget about PAUL MARTELLO ON THE BASS! I'm sure you all heard/saw how BIG of a fan I am on Friday with the screams and a million camera flashes but regardless, these boys are FABULOUS and now have me singing in the shower.


Anyways, Friday at the El Rey Theatre was SO MUCH FUN.. Some great songs (my personal fav is P.C.H.), a few thousand dollar instruments being thrown through the air (and caught, luckily), a Louis Vuitton drum set, Colleen crowd surfing, you know, pretty standard Friday night stuff for us. But who can resist amazing music (props to Mike and John for the lyrics) and hot guys with their shirts off??? Not me!

This being said, I say you come out to see Later Days at Canyon Club on April 2nd. It will NOT be a show to miss and I will hold a personal vendetta against you if you're reading this and do not attend (I'm tracking your cookies and WILL find you).

Don't forget. Check out Later Days online and start getting to know the songs for Canyon Club so you can sing along with meeeee (: LYMI

Thursday, February 18, 2010

Christian Louboutin.

Christian Louboutin: the name pretty much speaks for itself.

I had the honor of buying my first pair of C.L. pumps this weekend and I am in LOVE with them. And regardless of the empty space I now have where my wallet used to be full of cash.. and the LAX worker who told me 5 inch heels would make me look like a transvestite.. I am still in love with them. I don't care what people say.

I mean, if someone 5 feet tall can pull them off, someone 5'10 should be able to pull them off too. Right?

For the millionth time in my life, i definitely had to whip out my calculator and decide how many times I would actually have to wear them (like it's a chore..) to be worth the debt. But, based on the number I came up with and the fact that the logical side of my brain was intoxicated, I wrote the check..



...and that was the best check I've ever written <3

Wednesday, February 17, 2010

Denim Leggings. Huh?

In the past few years, I've witnessed jeans get tighter and tighter, skinnier and skinnier. I mean, in third grade I wore overalls EVERY day (no joke), fourth, fifth, and sixth grade brought about those huge flares (ew), and finally in middle school, bootcut became THE jean. Then one glorious day, I got my braces off, ditched my Abercrombie & Fitch double-zeros, put on a pair of Citizens straight legs, and was hot. This was the start to my jeans obsession and, with no thanks to Ellie Fischer and Mark's credit card, I ran with it.

Even in high school, my jeans went from barely being able to pull over my giant feet to impossible to get off (which wasn't really a problem because my jeans were great, duh, but regardless). Each time I tried on my old bootcuts, I felt like a fatty and my legs seemed a foot shorter than they were in my skinnies. Sick, sick, sick.

Needless to say, I'm stoked on this skin tight denim frenzy. I LOVE leggings (see my Tory post) and obviously, I LOVE denim*, so putting the two together is like a match made in heaven.

Try some of my favorites (thank you Mark for the research funds):
  • Joe's Jeans makes great washes for these guys. I own the zip legging in shred black.. Super comfortable and rocker cute. If I didn't need to eat, I would probably buy the med blue Joe's and THIS pretty little thing. Too bad there's only a large left (but good for my wallet I guess).
  • I want these. Rich & Skinny.
  • THESE are beautiful, but looked funny on me. Go try them on at Madison and see for yourself.. I ended up with a pair of Goldsign Misfit Jeans instead. PS Madison does a great sales tax incentive and just an FYI the girls at the Westlake Promenade store are way more friendly than the store at Cross Creek.
Annnnyways, my marketing teacher probably thinks it's interesting that I'm taking so many notes in his class when he's not talking... So I'd better be going.

TTFN, ta ta for now...




Is it bad that I just stole a line from Winnie the Pooh?


*please note, jean on jean is NOT acceptable.. EVER. So sad call your dad.

Tuesday, February 16, 2010

Tory Burch

Not only do I LOVE Tory Burch because a significant mother figure works in the Malibu store (love you Mommy Lane), but I'm also enamored by the way each and every Tory piece never seems to be repeated by any designer. Each time I visit, I am greeted by a wide variety of goods: tunics in simple and sophisticated patterns that are slightly tuned up to flow with the current season, handbags that will be carry-able for years (and won't really break the bank), and last but not least, the AMAZING Reva flat that I can't seem to have enough of.

It feels nice. Not to be "that" girl and say I'm broke, but I am.. and being able to afford a genuinely timeless and classic piece from Tory Burch feels good. I mean look: this is a fabulous bag, easily worn out at night or across your body for a daytime outing.. throw in your wallet and lip gloss and don't worry about lugging your huge bag (like every girl seems to have these days.. and I'm guilty too). You might expect an extra zero before the decimal point, but no. And it is in dollars, not pounds. $325 is NOT BAD for such a great bag. Don't think so? Let me tell you a little bit about my rationale for purchases such as these:

Pretend you're buying a $200 dollar pair of jeans. Consider how much you will wear them, say for this example 30 times before you get sick of them. Divide 30 into 200 (thanks Pepperdine for my awesome math skills) and you get 6.67 (not gonna lie, I used a calculator). Now, decide whether or not you would pay $6.67 every time you pulled them on, checked yourself out in the mirror, and thought your ass looked great... I guarantee you can skip a few meals out until your next pay check to afford them.

Back to Tory. Have I given you the impression that Tory Burch is only classy, sophisticated, blah blah blah? Well shake that thought (kind of) and check THESE out. I'm heading in tomorrow to buy them. I know, some of you think this legging epidemic is crazy.. But you know what? They are super comfortable and don't add bulk to your legs*, and I would live in them if I didn't care about being an outfit repeater. Anyways.. If you know me, you know I'm obsessed with snake print right now, and thankfully so is Tory!! As I write this, I'm contemplating what I will wear with my new leggings (I'll probably get them in blue): maybe my white Alice & Olivia baggy V-Neck (with a belt) or if I'm really gutsy I might even buy the (also fabulous) Robbe top the model has them on with. And don't give me attitude for wanting the exact outfit the model has, I'm sure she would like it if she saw me wearing it.

I could go on all night, really.. But it's 3 am and if I don't want to have bags under my eyes tomorrow for the SPRING STONE or take over the role of the narcoleptic in our house.. I'd better be going beddy byin.

Sleep tight my wonderful three followers :)


P.S. I'm antsy to continue my take on denim leggings (I've heard them referred to as "jeggings," but I'm going to ex-nay that from my and hopefully your vocabulary) tomorrow!


*disclaimer: If you have bulkier legs, try a lonnnnnger shirt over leggings, stick with a darker color, and make sure they are good quality fabric so it's not lighter in some parts of your leg than others. Or just go to the gym.. your pick :)

Sunday, February 14, 2010

V-Day!

Hello Lovebirds!

After a GREAT weekend in Vegas with the most fun people ever, I'm finally recovering in beautiful California. I've determined that, due to the extensive people watching Colleen and I did, Vegas really is Sin City.. I mean, some people wear the most RIDICULOUS things! We're still trying to decide how one can look in the mirror, think to him or herself, "damn, I look good," and proceed to walk IN PUBLIC in some of the outfits we saw!

WE, on the other hand, prepared to be the best dressed in the Veg... and we were.

Pink was definitely in order (thank you Saint Valentine) so, we rocked it! I sported a cute little number from Amanda Uprichard with a Tory Burch belt and Colls looked FAB in a skirt and L'Agence blouse from Ron Herman. As you can tell, my color for the week (and quite possibly for my entire life)
is HOT pink. Don't think you're as much of a pink queen as me? Try it a little more subtle by wearing things with hints of pink rather than drowning in it. The color makes your skin glow (or is that my new Michael Kors leg shimmer??) and of course gets you noticed.. I mean, I found a Valentine :)

More on the love list: Tory Burch. There's no secret that she is one of my favorites, but speaking of love.. I'm on my way to a ROMANTIC dinner with some loves of my life.

Eat now with my girls, talk Tory later.

Happy Valentines day xx

Friday, February 12, 2010

Yumi Kim is my Valentine..

Love, love, LOVE Yumi Kim. She has great patterns that don't look like they were picked up at a Forever 21 (no offense). Just thought ya'll should know.. There is a V-Day sale on her website that is phenomenal.. but order soon!


Here's a way to make an investment: instead of buying yourself flowers for Valentines day* that will die in a week, get a cute top where the flowers (in print, of course) will last until your detergent fades it or your dry cleaner ruins it. Boys, Yumi flowers are way more romantic than yours will ever be. So sad, call your dad.


I just bought a tank from her that is fabulous (obviously) and I will be wearing it up and down the strip of the Vegas this lovely weekend :)



Yumi Kim: Love it, mean it.




(I'm ignoring anyone who has a Valentine because you're dumb.. Except you Becca, I love Char)

Ugh.

Here's my deal..


My closet is full to the brim. My shoes are stacked (unhappily) on top of each other due to lack of space. My purses are inaccessible to the normal human (or just my tiny roommate, Colleen) and I'm sure they feel neglected. But here's my problem: I NEED MORE!


When I say need, obviously I mean want, but it sure feels like a need.


Have you ever tried to get dressed for something and been unsuccessful? Welcome to my life. No matter how new something is in my closet, how beautiful my new pair of shoes is, or how fabulous I look in a new dress, it is NEVER good enough. What's a girl to do?? Go shopping, of course.


Here's my real pickle: my monthly funds start teetering on that fine line between black and red early on. I've begun to hold my smile when I check my bank account until I am 100% positive there is NO negative sign in front of my balance. More often than not, that ungrateful little MINUS eats my heart to shreds. But this is no reason to stop shopping, ladies. It is simply time to find something fabulous on a budget (whatever that means)...


I know you girls are out there, struggling to find something hot to wear to Hollywood, wanting to look like you didn't try to get dressed for school (but need to impress a cute boy in your class), trying to dress appropriate for church without looking like a Church of Christ kid*, and even needing a comfy pair of sweats that you can lounge (like I do 70% of my time). BUT YOU NEVER KNOW WHAT TO WEAR! I'm here to help.


So this is my goal: I find something good- I let you know. If I hate something- I'll also let you know.



You're Welcome.


*excludes you fashionable Church of Christ kids.. but know you are limited in number.